Very eventful night!
1:38 p.m. x 2004-07-23

Last night while laying in bed reading a book my boys came running to my room totally terrified. They were sitting in their bedroom floor playing and someone knocked on their bedroom window three times. Cory said he jumped onto his bed, which is beside the window, to look outside but then decided not to and he and Trevor took off running to my bedroom. This happened pretty close to midnight.

All three of the kids piled into my bed and we sat in the middle of my bed with the TV off and the fan off. We could hear the dogs next door going nutzo. They were barking and growling.

I tried calling Michael's cellphone but he was busy working and didn't hear it ringing. I tried to call my mother but then my phone went dead. Ok..by this time I was totally freaking out yet TRYING to keep my cool for the kid's sake. I kept trying the phone and finally I heard a dial tone. My mother's number was busy so I thought (HOPED!!) she was on the computer. Sure enough! I messaged her and told her what happened and she was here within 10 minutes.

The kids and I sat with all the lights on in the house and were super quiet to listen for more knocking. Someone knocked on the door and we just about jumped out of our skin. It was my mother, of course. So I let her in and we sat and talked about what it might have been.

The wind wasn't blowing. The air was very calm. It wasn't storming so no thunder or lightning that may have sounded like a knock. My mother handed me a metal rod and said we were going outside to take a look. I shook from head to toe. I'm such a WUSS! So I grabbed my keys, gave the kids the phone to hold in case they needed to call 911 and locked the door on our way out. My mother and I looked in every dark corner of the house. We looked behind the storage building behind the house and behind bushes and everywhere possible. There was nobody around.

Of course, I don't think someone is dumb enough to knock and then hang out a while afterwards. HeeHee!

The dogs started barking while we were outside and I almost jumped out of my skin once again. I said, "Petey hush! Sassy hush!" And they shut right up. They are my neighbor's dogs.

So whoever was out there knocking on the window must've been someone that isn't around here often because all the neighbors around here know that if you talk to Petey and Sassy they will stop barking if they are familiar with you.

My mother and I came back in to tell the kids that everything was ok and it was probably just a kid being silly pulling a prank. They were still pretty scared so we sat around and talked about funny times to try and get their mind off of the incident.

Before my mother left we went walking around the house one more time. Everything was fine. Our pool has been drained. Someone has pulled the plug on the side of our 3 1/2 foot pool, which totally sucks! I walked through the stream of water flowing out of the pool and almost had a heart attack. Shew!

I think I lost about 10 years of my life last night with being scared out of my pants. But the rest of the night went ok. The kids fell asleep in my bed. I barely had enough room to sleep on my side but they felt safer in my room with me so it was fine.

I cannot wait until Michael gets home. I will feel SO much safer!

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x book
x notes
x email
x diva
x host