Fair/4-H events
11:22 p.m. x 2004-08-04

This has been a long week and it's only Wednesday. I took Cory's goat and rabbit to the fair and my dad kept Cory so I could go to the wedding. Carey and Trevor were with their daddy. The wedding was beautiful, although the preacher forgot a lot of things he was supposed to say including "you may kiss the bride". He is a very sweet old man getting way up there in age so that was ok.

Michael and I stayed for the reception afterwards and it was nice. His mother has finally accepted me. After 3 years, it's about time. He says she is that way with all his girlfriends. Nobody is good enough for her son. That is understandable. But 3 years seems like a long time, ya know. I mean, I've always been super nice to all of his family, including her.

When we walked into the church before the wedding she said, "There is my baby boy! Michael is next to get married." I was in total shock! :) She wasn't a bit happy when he and I moved in together. So to hear those words coming from her mouth.. well, it was great!

Cory did really good at his goat show. He got last place but only because the goat was being a pain in the butt. Lots of people said I should enter him into a rodeo contest because of the way he handled his goat. The goat weighs more than Cory and kept trying to get away but he never let loose until the end of the show and he just gave up and let the goat go because his hands were hurting from holding the goat's leash so tight.

Cory got 4th place in the rabbit show. That's good for not knowing anything about the rabbit.

Cory's grandmother (his dad's mom) was there for both shows. She and I took the kids to ride rides today. They had a blast. She paid for Cory's hand stamp to ride and also for Carey and Trevor's. She even paid for them to play a game a few times. They won stuffed puppies. I'm so happy that she is so involved with Cory considering his father isn't. She is wonderful with him AND my other two children. She treats them as if they are her grandchildren also.

I really miss Michael. With this fair stuff going on I wasn't able to spend much time with him last weekend and it looks as if I won't get to spend much time with him this coming weekend either. Friday evening is the goat sale and we more than likely won't be back home until after 1:00 am. Saturday afternoon is the rabbit sale and that will take several hours also. Sunday I will be completely wiped out from this weeks events and will want to sleep the day away I am sure.

We have been getting up early and going to bed late at night this week because of the fair and 4-H events. The kids have been good considering the lack of sleep plus it has been so hot here.

Tomorrow it is supposed to be in the 70's and nice all week so that will be a nice change.

Well, I need to get some sleep while I can. Another long day awaits.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x book
x notes
x email
x diva
x host